That “rare find” feeling

Today I am sitting at my desk wearing high heels. This is noteworthy, I usually only wear flats. For the simple reason that I cannot walk in high heels, not even the few meters from the car to the bar. So I need to wear them sitting down.

What’s special about the pair I’m wearing is that they are Gucci pumps, usually well out of my range but within budget thanks to a lucky find at Vinnies. Vinnies is my favourite shop because of those unexpected lucky and rare finds. Hunting for them is a big part of the pleasure shopping there. And on the rare occasions that you do make a good find, you love it even more.

I guess plant hunters must feel similar when they throw away the machete to kneel down and examine a rare species that’s not a common weed or abundant everywhere else. In fact, I already feel a little bit of a thrill when I come across a rare species in the garden. It’s a privileged “wow” feeling of looking at a plant that grows right in front of me while I know that it grows hardly anywhere else. It’s sad, too. Most of the rare plants are at the same time threatened in the wild. There is an entire “Rare and Threatened Plants Garden” in the Sydney Botanical Gardens highlighting this issue.

Rare plants can be spotted everywhere in the Botanical Gardens though. The other day I came across the palm Pritchardia maideniana
planted not far from the Tropical Centre.

Rare Palm

It is a species that was formally described in 1913 from two mature plants here in the Garden. To this date, however, nobody has found it in the wild. It’s a garden-only plant! Whilst there are still corners of this earth to be discovered and species to be described, chances of it being found in the wild are slim.

In the meantime Pritchardia maideniana has been propagated and shared with other Botanical Gardens. This is comforting. At the same time it underlines the importance of Botanical Gardens in conservation. It also leaves a feeling of pride to be part of an organisation that enables rare plants to live, grow and even spread.

Leave a Reply

